Quiet

Mt. Angel Abbey Church

Mt. Angel Abbey Church (Photo: Mt. Angel Abbey)

Parents need a little quiet from time to time. For me, a browse through a bookstore will usually suffice, but every so often I need to get completely away.

That’s when I go up to the abbey.

This will be my fourth trip since 2007. I’ve tried to go up once a year, but our lives got so chaotic, what with moving and downsizing and career changes and more downsizing. Let’s just say the last two years were a mess. But today I get to go back and I’m really looking forward to it.

A whole weekend of quiet; just prayer and writing. No internet—not even an iPhone.

And by the time I drive back late Sunday morning, I’ll be rested, refreshed, and really missing Anna.

Missing her enough to give up on quiet for a while.

Leave a Reply

