Quote

A Poem for Ascension Day

Monarch Butterfly

Photo: Kenneth Dwain Harrelson (CC BY-SA 3.0)

“Easter wings.” from The Temple by George Herbert (1593 – 1633).

Lord, who created man in wealth and store,
Though foolishly he lost the same,
Decaying more and more,
Till he became
Most poor:
With thee
Oh let me rise
As larks, harmoniously,
And sing this day thy victories:
Then shall the fall further the flight in me.

My tender age in sorrow did begin:
And still with sicknesses and shame
Thou didst so punish sin,
That I became
Most thin.
With thee
Let me combine
And feel this day thy victory:
For, if I imp my wing on thine
Affliction shall advance the flight in me.

The first graders at Anna’s school are releasing their butterflies later this morning, and while the choice of today is a coincidence, they couldn’t have chosen better.

Leave a Reply

