Bloggerhood Etc. 1/27/14

US Map

Image via SB Nation comments thread (origin undetermined)

Here’s my best of the week from around the Blogosphere.

Best Bad Dream.Dreaming of a Greyish-White Super Bowl” by David Roth at SB Nation.

(T)he Garden State contains loud multitudes. There is a great deal of natural beauty and there also are desolate cities whose nicer neighborhoods could still be mistaken for Bartertown from Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome; the state produces delicious tomatoes and corn and blueberries, and also generates richer, beefier Heavy Industry-Related Butt Smells than you can possibly imagine.

Best Guest Post.Love Showed Up and Watched My Kids” by Addie Zierman at Leannepenny.com.

(S)he said, “I’m taking your kid this Friday,” and when I protested she held up a hand and said, “I’m taking your kid. You need time to finish your book, and I’m taking your kid. Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.” 

Most Vulnerable.Of Embarrassing Prayers and Naked Talks with God” by Natalie Trust.

God, how am I supposed to pray? How am I supposed to express day to day desires when the cry of my heart is to have some hope for a miracle of healing? My prayers today feel so trivial. On the scale of urgency and necessity: a new job for my husband or the life of my best friend. When faced with what to pray for, this doesn’t actually feel like a choice. And I’m kind of angry with you for how confused I feel.

Funniest Video.More NFL ” by Bad Lip-Reading (via YouTube).

Best Take on a Classic Book.What Charlotte’s Web is Teaching Me About Longing” by Ashley Larkin, guest posting at Moments and Invitations.

It’s partly the ache of childhood gone, and going. Partly the bursting bounty of flowers and drink. Partly the wondrous miracle of life in secret places. Partly the joy of bearing witness, like Fern, as everyday sacred plays out before our watching eyes.

It is all this and something more that continues stirring this longing, seeking home.

Best Bad Search Technique.Google Searching for the Next Great QB” by Hughtavious Hill at Fanspeak.

Instead of relying on simple measurables and game tape, evaluators have started to learn and utilize the nuances of advanced metrics and statistical analysis. Draftniks continue to push the envelope to get smarter and smarter.

Which is exactly why we’re about to do the opposite. Everyone’s going smart, so let’s go dumb.

Best Muse.In Which Ms. Frizzle is My New Writing Muse” by Sarah Bessey.

(O)ne of Ms. Frizzle’s favourite ways to teach is to drop the kids into the middle of the experience and say “Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!”

I love that.

Best Cover of a Cover (That’s Also a Medley).Space Oddity” by Glove and Boots (via YouTube).

One thought on “Bloggerhood Etc. 1/27/14

Leave a comment