Every Day is a Dare

Caution: I'm sleeping

Image: Liquid 2003 (CC BY-SA 3.0)

When I wake up most mornings my first instinct is to go back to sleep. My bed is comfortable, my sheets and blanket are warm, and starting this week the rain is hitting the roof incessantly. Nothing makes me sleepy faster than the sound of rain.

I roll over. I want to go back to sleep. I want to stay warm and safe and cozy. I don’t want to get up, to go outside, to face a day I don’t know.

A day that is a dare.

It could be a good day or a bad one. I could win the lottery (highly unlikely) or get struck by lightning (almost as unlikely). I don’t know what’s going to happen. The only thing I know is that if I lie here and go back to sleep nothing will happen.

I have to dare to get up. To face what the day will bring. To live with all the joys and sorrows and risks that life entails. Never knowing if the next time I walk out the door will be the last time, or the 20,000th to last time.

But to stay here is to sleep. And that’s not living. I’d rather take the chance. I’d rather take the dare

Plus my daughter is standing next to my bed, and she won’t stop nagging me until I get up.

“Dad? Wake up Dad!”

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300

6 thoughts on “Every Day is a Dare

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about each day being a dare. It creates a new perspective on run of the mill routines of life. I am stopping by from Five Minute Friday.

    Like

  2. I can relate! I could sleep all morning on rainy days and, especially in cool weather, it’s hard to get out of bed. When my depression is flaring up, I REALLY want to stay.

    But you’re right, that’s not much of a life. My counselor asked me how I’d feel if I stayed in bed all day. “Like I’d wasted the whole day!” We do need to get up and DO something, even though what the day holds is uncertain.

    Someday you’ll miss your daughter waking you up. My son just turned 17. When he wakes up, he just goes downstairs to do his own thing.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

    Like

  3. David, I can sure relate to the coziness of pounding rain and the desire to stay put under the covers. Thinking, too, maybe part of the difficulty is that the bed is a known quantity that feels safe, while the day stretches ahead with so many questions and much mystery, and that can be anxiety-producing. I can certainly trade in mystery for safety and predictability out of fear.
    This morning, trying to believe in the good of the unknown as I venture out into the soggy world. Thanks for this, David. Fun to see that we were FMF neighbors!

    Like

  4. Yes! Every day is precious and God dares us to live it well. I’m a morning person and usually have no trouble popping out of bed…until December hits and it seems to take the sun forever to catch up to me!

    Like

  5. I love this. Dare! I am going to take on this dare to dare. Thanks a lot Stay at home dad for sharing your inspiration. I am so glad you joined us on the Cheerleading Link Up. You are a blessing. Come back next week and be sure to encourage on Twitter on Monday! So glad I found your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

