Maintaining a Schedule

"BLOG!"

The “fantastic” opening screen of the Glove and Boots video blog.

A year ago today, I set a goal for myself to post to this blog more frequently, and I devised a schedule to help make it happen. Now that a year has passed, how have I done? To answer, I need to break the question into two parts.

Am I blogging more frequently? Yes. In the past my blogging frequency has ebbed and flowed. I’ve had very busy months, like December, 2012, with my Online Advent Calendar, and very sparse months, including a string from October, 2011 through February 2012 where I never hit double digits. Since last April, I’ve averaged about twenty posts a month.

Has the schedule helped? I think so. By narrowing each day’s topic to a more specific subject, I have an easier time writing posts. I also have a built-in deadline for each post, which I usually meet.

Having answered those two questions, I have one more left to ask …

Is there anything I can do differently? Yes. This schedule has taken some tweaking to get right and the tweaking isn’t done yet. For example, I’ve struggled with a regular topic for Thursday, and, after a year, I think I may have finally found one. I also need to work more on my time management—a constant struggle for me—to make sure I’m not leaving posts to the last minute.

It’s an ongoing struggle to keep the blog up and running while not neglecting my other writing as well. I’m figuring it out as I go.

How about you? If you have a blog, what helps you blog more frequently? Tell me in the comments. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Maintaining a Schedule

  1. Oh my goodness! I’m glad to see this post today, because I’m just getting back to the blog after a two-week hiatus. I need to figure out if I truly want to be more disciplined or not. So I have a question for YOU 🙂 : What benefits does blogging more frequently and sticking to a schedule have for your writing and the blog? Inquiring minds want to know!

    Like

    • It’s a way of getting past what Stravinsky described as his fear of the blank page. As long as he could write anything, the infinity of possibilities shut him down. It was only in limiting himself that he was able to write anything at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

