Kids Still Get Joy

Anna with cat face paint

Anna Cat ready for Dr. Seuss Night at school.

It’s a strange coincidence.

The Five Minute Friday prompt for today is “Joy,” and two years ago today, I wrote a post titled “Kids Get Joy.” I was inspired by a scripture quote …

“unless you . . . become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3 NRSV)

… and my memory of Anna running and playing with other kids.

Kids get joy. That phrase has stuck with me. and I see so many examples of it when I watch Anna play.

Me? I’m still a kid at heart, but I can get depressed at times. The happy times have always been happier for me, but the sad times have been sadder too. Sometimes it’s hard to pull out of a deep funk;  Anna makes it a little easier.

So when I find myself dragging, I find that the best way to get past it is to put it aside and do whatever Anna is doing:

  • Sing.
  • Dance.
  • Make silly faces.
  • Jump up and down.
  • Run in circles.
  • Play hide and seek.
  • Read stories in character.
  • Make up stories with her puppets (also in character).
  • Color.
  • Paint.
  • Play with PlayDoh.
  • Make silly Potato Heads.

It is a blast playing with my kid and I can never be around her for long without smiling and laughing.

It’s still true. Anna’s had a rough year transitioning to a new school, and she gets down on herself more than she used to (she’s also eight, and not quite as carefree as she was when she was in preschool or kindergarten). But we can still inspire each other to be silly.

Anna in my shirt and hat and me in her dress up clothes

Rock stars!

And today’s the first day of Anna’s spring vacation. That’s nine days of silliness, and a whole lot of joy, with my wife and daughter … starting today!

Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “Kids Still Get Joy

  1. This is my first time doing five minute Friday. I also have a daughter. She’s still a baby but it’s still true for me that just being with her making faces and silly noises is all it takes to bring me joy. Keep up your great writing and God bless you as seek to be a loving father for your daughter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

