A Casualty of Laundry

Makeshift finger splint

Image: WikiHow

I haven’t written much this week, but I have a good reason. I smashed my finger in the dryer while doing laundry on Monday. I didn’t break it, but I have a really nasty bruise and it’s only begun to loosen up since yesterday.

And now I have a lot of catching up to do.

It’s funny how losing the use of just one finger can slow a writer down. One finger in ten and yet it left me about fifty percent incapacitated. That I’m a two-fingered typist at best doesn’t help.

Yes, I’m a writer who never learned to type. That’s embarrassing. I’ve learned so many things in my life. How to play guitar very well. How to piano rather poorly. How to sing. How to compose music. How to write stories. How to change a diaper (haven’t done that in over four years). How to cook. How to do laundry.

The only two things I didn’t learn that I should have?

How to type. And how to keep my finger out of the door when I shut the dryer.

And my five minutes are up.

I’m not sure what this post was about, but I have to say, for typing with two fingers, I am pretty fast.

Want to read more about laundry? Check out Life is Short, Laundry is Eternal: Confessions of a Stay-at-home Dad by Scott Benner. Since reading and reviewing his book, I can’t do laundry without thinking of him.

Five Minute Friday

Leave a Reply

