Dad-Proof Recipes: Barbecue Turkey Meatloaf

Now that Fall is approaching and the weather is cooling down, I find myself wanting to cook at home again. Here’s a recipe I found online and tweaked a bit to my own liking.

Barbecue Turkey Meatloaf

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Bake Time 1 hour

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground turkey (98% lean).
  • ½ cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs.
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup barbecue sauce, divided.
  • 2 tablespoons steak sauce.
  • 2 eggs.

By using 98% lean turkey, I can bake the loaf in a bread tin without worrying about the fat not draining. There’s barely any to drain! Then working off the original recipe, I substituted season breadcrumbs for plain ones (that’s what I had the first time I made it), garlic powder for the onion (I can’t eat onions), steak sauce for the Worcestershire sauce (again, what I had in the cupboard) and whole eggs for egg white. (What can I say? I like yolks.) I skipped the salt and pepper.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Thoroughly spray a baking tin (or baking pan) with cooking spray.
  3.  Scramble the eggs in a large bowl. Then add the turkey, bread crumbs, ½ cup barbecue sauce, and steak sauce. Mix well.
  4. Pour meatloaf mixture into a baking tin (or pour in the center of the baking pan and shape by hand—I’m so glad I own a bread tin).
  5. Spread the remaining barbecue sauce evenly over the top of the loaf. (Anna calls this part the “Gross Meat Cake.” I tell her it gets better once it’s cooked. She doesn’t believe me.)
  6. Bake 1 hour and let stand for 5 minutes before slicing.

Serves 4 (each serving 3 slices) or in our case, two with leftovers for lunch. I can’t convince Anna to eat it, so she’ll probably have a hot dog.

By the way, it’s cooking as I type this, and it smells so good.

One thought on “Dad-Proof Recipes: Barbecue Turkey Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

