Bloggerhood Etc. 5/27/13

The snow-covered mountains and punctual trains of Montreux, Switzerland, summon childhood train sets, and the daydreams that accompanied them.

Photo: Harold Cunningham/Getty

Last week, I departed from my normal best-of format to highlight a cross section of Apraxia Awareness Day posts. This week I return to my usual format, but with a special expanded link-o-rama. There was just too much good stuff to leave anything out, so here goes . . .

Best Travel Essay—International. “How Learning a Foreign Language Reignited My Imagination” by Ta-Nehisi Coates in The Atlantic. Coates is perhaps my favorite essayist currently writing. When I read his work, I alternate between being inspired to write better myself, and contemplating quitting because I can’t ever imaging writing this well.

Best Travel Essay—Regional. “Visitors take the bait on Bandon crab dock” by Melissa Hart in the Eugene Register Guard. Unlike Coates, Melissa Hart always inspires me to write better. Not because her work isn’t just as wonderful in its own way, but because she’s a personal friend and a great teacher.

Best Letter to My Former Parish. “Dear Parents with Young Children in Church” by Jamie Bruesehoff on I am totally *that* mom. It’s a long story (which appears in my book with names change to protect the innocent and not-so-innocent), but this is exactly what a former parish of ours needed to hear.

Best Parenting Essay. “and to dust you shall return” by Nish Weiseth on her blog. Short and stunning. Wow!

Best Mission Statement. “Pursuing the Truth in Love” by Matt Malone SJ in America. A Catholic statement for a Catholic magazine.

Best Reminder of What We All Need to Say From Time to Time. “Forgive Me” by Rachel Held Evans on her blog. Especially on the Internet, we all need to apologize from time to time. I know I do.

Ring over The Capitol

Image: Ron Miller

Most Mind-Blowing. “If Earth Had a Ring Like Saturn” by Ron Miller on io9.
Awe inspiring pictures like the one above.

Best Reply to an Faux Controversy. “Yes, Pope Francis said ‘All are redeemed.’ Is that news?” by Terry Mattingly on GetReligion. Someone needs to calm “The Huff and Puff Post” down every so often, or at least counter their SCREAMING HEADLINES!

Best Defense of Good Writing. “The Lost Symbol and The Da Vinci Code author Dan Brown’s 20 worst sentences” by Tom Chivers in The Telegraph. If you don’t laugh, you’ll cry.

Favorite Virtual Exhibit. “Dangerous Decibels” at the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI). Educational and fun. Now I want to go to OMSI again.

And the grand finale . . .

LEGO X Wing

Photo: LEGO

The Largest (and Quite Possibly the Coolest) Thing Ever Built With Lego. “This 23-Ton, 5.3-Million-Brick X-Wing Is the Biggest Lego Model Ever.” Story by Angela Wattercutter in Wired. So geeking out right now!

Leave a Reply

