Quote

A Prayer for Spring

Rows of tulips in various colors.

Wooden Shoe Tulip Farm (Photo: Julia Ozab)

God, as I look around I see so many signs of new life. I know that it happens every spring, but it still seems surprising that the very patch of ground that I stared at in the winter, the very patch of ground that was cold and hard and barren, the very patch of ground that was covered by a blanket of snow, the very patch of ground that looked completely lifeless, is now bursting with life.

God, there are places in my own life that seem cold and hard and barren, and dead, and sometimes it seems that nothing will ever be able to change that. But I know that with you everything is possible. You can bring life to even the parts of our lives that seem the most dead. The disciples found that out on Easter Sunday, when Jesus bloomed from the tomb.

Help me to trust in your power to change, and help me to prepare the soil of my soul for your new life, every season of the year, every day of the month, and every minute of the day.

Amen.

Fr. James Martin SJ

Leave a Reply

