Aside

This Dad Demands Action Too!

These Senators voted for special interests, not the best interests of their families.

I don’t put much political stuff up on this blog, but this has got me so angry that I can’t keep silent about it. I hope it doesn’t cost me readers, but if it does, so be it.

But to be fair, Harry Reid should be off this list since he changed his vote for procedural reasons, as explained in this Washington Post article on arcane Senate rules from February. In short, his “no” vote allows him to file a “motion to reconsider,” and give the bill another chance. Had he voted “yes,” the bill would be dead.

It makes no sense, but neither does the filibuster in its current form. Forty five votes is not a majority in a one hundred member legislature, and yet it is enough to thwart the popular will yet again.

