When There Becomes Here

Signpost with arrows pointing There and Here

Google Images

Four years ago, almost to the day, I sat down and started writing a book. I had never written a book before. I had never attempted to write a book before. Until a couple of months earlier, I had never even considered writing a book.

And then I was. Starting at page one, with no idea how I would get from here to there.

After four years of writing and rewriting, editing and reediting, cutting, rewriting and re-reediting, I have arrived.

About 104,000 words typed, less about 20,000 words cut, equals 84,000 words on the page. It is done.

There has become here. I’m not sure how I made it but I did. The book is finished and the journey to publication begins.

And once again, I go from here to there.

Five Minute Friday

10 thoughts on “When There Becomes Here

  1. Congratulations, what is the book about? Hope you get a link up for it I’ll be watching, out of sheer curiosity. Posting some kudos from 5 minute friday.

    Like

  2. benbidder says:

    Oh how exciting!! I would love to write a book but don’t consider myself a writer at all, lol. FMF is going to challenge me!

    Like

  3. So encouraging! I started my first one out of the blue 2 1/2 years ago and am just entering the home stretch — of the first draft! This really, really encouraged me to keep at it. Thank you thank you thank you! And congratulations on a great achievement!

    Like

  4. Wrote this in a rush early this morning before heading out the door, and looking back I realized that I didn’t include a description of the book. I’ve talked about it a lot on this blog, but if you stopped by from FMF the first time today you wouldn’t know that, so here’s my “elevator pitch.”

    “A Smile for Anna” tells the story of my daughter’s life from the womb to age four, including her cleft diagnosis and surgery, her motor-speech disorder, and her irrepressible spirit.

    Check out the link in the top menu for more info and a few excerpts, and thanks for commenting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

