Five Minutes of Fear

Barking German Shepherd

Photo: Josh Plueger (USAF)

“There’s a dog in my room!”

Anna ran into the living room in a panic. She loves to be dramatic, but Julia and I both know when she’s serious.

“A dog?” I asked.

“Yes. I heard a bark, and it wasn’t Betty!” Betty is her make-believe dog.

“It was probably outside.” I said.

She ran into Julia’s arms. “Do you want one of us to look,” Julia asked.

“Yes please.”

So I walked into her room, and I heard it.

Woof.

Odd. It seemed to be coming from inside the room.

Woof, woof.

I looked around and noticed Anna’s computer. The screen saver was on, so I moved the mouse.

Woof.

Mystery solved, I walked back into the living room.

“Anna were you playing a Puppy Clifford game earlier?” I asked.

“Yeah.”

“You left it on.”

“Oh, sorry.” She smiled sheepishly, climbed down from Julia’s lap and walked back to her room.

And I thought about how, even as adults, the things we’re most afraid of are  products of our imagination. How we exaggerate fears in our minds until they become far more threatening than they actually are.

Jorge in a cape and crown (fan art)

Prince Jorge (Clifford Puppy Days fan art from Fanpop.com)

Five Minute Friday

3 thoughts on “Five Minutes of Fear

  1. Oh David
    This is precious! She seems like a sweet little one with such a good friend called Betty! They give us so much joy, especially when you experience their conplete trust in their parents!
    Blessings
    Mia

    Like

    • Betty has been quite the addition to our family these past two-and-a-half years. She has make-believe friends and family too, and they’re not all dogs. I have trouble keeping track, but Anna reminds me.

      Like

  2. You’re so right! We exaggerate our fears until we are frozen and can do nothing! And it usually turns out to be nothing when we examine it in the light of day …

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I agree that believing is hard sometimes, but that is the work that He has called us to do. (See John 6:29 – our work is to believe.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

