Aside

Poverty, USA

Living in Poverty, USA. What's life like at the poverty line?

The beginning of Jesus’ public ministry as described by Luke:

(Jesus) came to Nazareth, where he had grown up, and went according to his custom  into the synagogue on the sabbath day. He stood up to read and was handed a scroll of the prophet Isaiah. He unrolled the scroll and found the passage where it was written:

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me  to bring glad tidings to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, and to proclaim a year acceptable to the Lord.”

Rolling up the scroll, he handed it back to the attendant and sat down, and the eyes of all in the synagogue looked intently at him. He said to them, “Today this Scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing.” (Luke 4:16-21)

January is Poverty Awareness Month, and though the month is almost over, the one in six families who live in poverty in this country will continue to do so. Today of all days, when this passage is read in churches throughout our nation, and throughout the world, we must keep the poor in our prayers and do what we can to help.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me. (Matthew 25:35-36)

Please visit Poverty USA, get the facts, and find out what you can do to help.

Leave a Reply

