Open and Shut

Illuminated letter with David and an angel.

Illumination from Master of the Ingeborg Psalter (J. Paul Getty Museum)

The fourth O Antiphon, which will be chanted tonight at Vespers at monasteries around the world:

O Key of David and sceptre of the House of Israel;
you open and no one can shut;
you shut and no one can open:
Come and lead the prisoners from the prison house,
those who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death.

My daughter will turn seven in January. She is the same age as the kids that were killed in Connecticut last week. I want to protect her and every child like her. I want to lock every door between them and any one who might possibly hurt them.

But I can’t do that.

I can take precautions: I can be sure her school is as secure as it can possibly be, and I can keep her in my sight the rest of the time. But there is no lock in this world that only I can open and shut.

There is no way to protect every child all the time, and that both worries me and breaks my heart.

O Key of David, lead us out of darkness and the shadow of death:

December 20

 Advent calendar graphics by Oh My Gluestick. They are intended for personal use only and may not be used commercially.

One thought on “Open and Shut

Leave a Reply

