Writing a Santa List

Anna opens gifts on Christmas morning

Photo: Julia Ozab (Christmas, 2011)

Anna is working on her Santa list again this year. This is the third year she’s put one together with Julia’s help. In the past, she cut out pictures of the toys, games, books, and videos she’s wanted and glue-sticked them on a sheet of paper, but this year—for the first time—she’s writing the list herself.

Anna is struggling with handwriting, due to possible Dysgraphia related to her Childhood Apraxia of Speech, so writing a short, legible letter to Santa is a big deal for her.

Toy catalog in hand, she told Julia what she wanted to say, Julia wrote it out and then Anna copied it. Once they were done, they brought the letter in to show me. It wasn’t perfect, but I could read every word. I gave her a high five and a hug for her good work, and then we rehearsed her visit to Santa:

“Ho ho ho! Merry Christmas!” I said in my best Santa voice. “What’s your name?”

“I’m Anna.”

“Do you know what you want for Christmas this year?”

“Yes. I wote you a ledder.”

“Would you read it to me?”

“Sure!”

Dear Santa, I have been very good this year. I would like the following:

(I love how she gets right to the point)

  1. Baby Merida and Angus
  2. Unicorns or horses
  3. Tag Solar System, Human Body, and Maps
  4. Art Supplies
  5. Brave DVD
  6. Tinkerbell 4 DVD
  7. Games

Thank you.
Love,  Anna.

We’re planning to see the jolly old elf this weekend and she’s ready. As for us, the progress she’s made in her handwriting over the last two months is our Christmas gift.

More Santa-themed posts at Fatherhood Etc.

And a musical selection for the Feast of St. Nicholas:

December 6

 Advent calendar graphics by Oh My Gluestick. They are intended for personal use only and may not be used commercially.

One thought on “Writing a Santa List

Leave a Reply

