The Twenty-Third Psalm

Psalm 23 (KJV) frontispiece to the 1880 omnibus printing of The Sunday at Home.

Psalm 23 (KJV) frontispiece to the 1880 omnibus printing of The Sunday at Home. (Wikimedia Commons)


The 23rd Psalm was one of my mom’s favorite prayers. In the King James Version, of course, as in the above print: in her opinion it was the only “proper” English translation.

I said it last night at Evening Prayer (following the monthly psalter in the BCP) and it will be said today at Mass in Catholic churches around the world. Every time I say it or hear it I think of her, and miss her.

And though the rendition I’ve linked below isn’t KJV, I think she’d overlook that, given how beautiful the setting is. She loved good English choral music.

December 5

 Advent calendar graphics by Oh My Gluestick. They are intended for personal use only and may not be used commercially.

Leave a Reply

