One Year Later

Christmas Cookies

Photo: Julia Ozab (December 17, 2010)

A year ago today, I began writing the current version of this blog on WordPress.com. A year later, it is still a work-in-progress, but then again aren’t all blogs like that?

The first post had the predictable title “Welcome:”

For those of you new to the site, welcome to Fatherhood Etc, a stay-at-home dad’s thoughts on parenting and life. I will strive to make it entertaining, enlightening, and only occasionally aggravating. I understand that few people will agree with everything I post, but I hope that everyone will find something of value here.

And then I had to write something. Ah, the blank screen staring at me and demanding to be filled with . . .

What?

Anything and everything. Over the last year, I have written 120 posts (including this one) on a wide variety of topics. Over the course of a year that averages out to about a post every three days, yet it never seems like enough. Every day I don’t post something I feel guilty about it. What’s worse: every day I do post something I find myself thinking “OK, that’s fine but what am I going to write tomorrow?”

Sometimes I just give up and post a funny picture. Other times I cross post something I wrote elsewhere. But eventually I have to write something original.

And that blank screen keeps taunting me until I type something just to shut it up.

It doesn’t get any easier. The more I write, the more demanding my inner critic gets. Yet I keep going, and after a year I look back and see a total of about 30,000 words. Not a great word-count for a year, but I was writing other stuff (and I left out my writing page which has shared my attention the last three months.)

Oh and I just spent the last half-hour going back through my posts and totaling the word-counts with a calculator, which proves two points:

  1. WordPress should add an ongoing word-count to their statistics page.
  2. Writers will find any excuse to procrastinate.
Leave a Reply

