Mohawks and Kids Still Don’t Mix

I’m at the mall play area with Anna, and among the kids are two boys with matching mohawks. Seeing them, I’m reminded of a blog post I wrote on the subject a couple of years ago:

It’s not the first time I’ve seen a young child at a playground with his hair shaved in a mohawk. At least they’ve all been boys so far. (I hope there aren’t any parents out there who think it’s a good idea to turn their daughters into miniature versions of the singer from Bow Wow Wow. ) Seeing the boy today reminded me of the others I’d seen before and it got me wondering?

If your parents give you a mohawk in Kindergarten, how are you going to rebel against them when you’re a teenager? When I was young it was so much easier. I just grew my hair long and annoyed my parents for two years without ever getting in any serious trouble. If I’d gotten a mohawk, I think my Mom would have had a heart attack.

What’s a teenager to do now? Get a piercing? Mom will tell you how “that one hurt, but this one hurt way more.” Get a tattoo? Dad will show you his and say “it’s about time I got another one.” Hip huggers and pants hanging off your butt? Only if you want to look like your Mom still buys your clothes for you.

I’m wondering if some parents think deep down that their kids won’t rebel against them if they remain rebellious teenagers themselves. Sorry, but it doesn’t work that way. Rebellion is part of growing up and what ever you are, your kids will want to be different just to get a rise.

So unless you want your child to come home one day saying “I’m a Republican” or “I want to be a corporate lawyer” or “Would you be interested in a copy of The Watchtower?” then get the poor kid a normal haircut already.

Leave a Reply

