I Am a Published Writer

Back in February, I sent a 500 word excerpt of my manuscript to Chicken Soup for the Soul, in response to a call for “devotional stories in times of trouble.” In March, they contacted me and told me my submission had made the final round. At this point, my chances were good that my story would be included, but I couldn’t say anything until it was final.

Well today I got an email:

Congratulations! Your story, “Truth at the Benefit Sale,” has been selected to appear in Chicken Soup for the Soul: Devotionals for Tough Times. We appreciate both the opportunity to publish your story as well as the special message you have chosen to share with the world through our book series.

Chicken Soup for the Soul: Devotionals for Tough Times is scheduled to be available in bookstores October 4, 2011.

I am a published writer. Come October, I will earn my first paycheck. I can also include this credit in my queries to agents and in my pitches at this year’s Willamette Writers Conference. It shows I can publicize my work, and build an audience—a big plus with both agents and editors.

This is just the first step of many, but I’m on my way. Now it’s time to get back to work.

But first I need to go up on the roof and yell:

“I AM A PUBLISHED WRITER!”

“WOO HOO!!!”

4 responses to “I Am a Published Writer

  1. So happy for you! That’s fantastic news!

  2. Pingback: Two Weeks and Counting! | David Ozab

Leave a Reply

